So far, so tasty

Two weeks in and I’m still going strong! I’m taking the bus, and have set myself a mini target of creating/baking/making something delicious every week. Last weekend was a little triumph called “blueberry crumb cake”. I tried the recipe from a magazine, which called for buttermilk – which is SUCH a strange concept! You basically make milk go off. By adding lemon juice, and leaving it out to curdle. Then you add it to the cake. It is really, really strange.  I think you can buy a more sophisticated version in the better supermarkets, but alas, Asda doesn’t sell it. Surprise, surprise. Apparently it gives a stronger, tangier taste, and keeps the cake from browning too quickly. Odd. I think I need to learn more about this little treat. Anyway, the blueberries sank to the bottom but otherwise, the cake was good. Practice needed on the old “fruit sinking” situation…..

Blueberry Crumb Cake

Leave a comment